top of page

daisy jones & the six


Wow, well that was a surprise.


For me, this book was reminiscent of the 2018 remake of 'A Star is Born' in two ways.


First, and most obviously, the setting. At its core, the book centers around two singers plucked from obscurity who skyrocket to the top together, riding out the highs and lows of fame. It's about addiction and recovery, loss and betrayal, family and career, and ultimately, the thin line between love and hate.


Second, and most importantly, I wholly underestimated it. Despite (and maybe because of) the hype surrounding it, I had to be pushed reluctantly into starting the book. But after caving to the peer pressure, I found that I absolutely loved it.

Initially, I was turned off by the fact that it was a 'Hello Sunshine!' pick (no offense, Reese!). Historically, those have been hit and miss for me. Where the Crawdads Sing - fantastic! The Guest List - overhyped and riddled with plot holes.


Instead of diving headfirst into Daisy Jones, I decided to dip my toes in the water with Taylor Jenkins Reid's 'Malibu Rising' and 'The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo'. I enjoyed both, but it wasn't until I was recommended a different TJR novel that I finally decided to try Daisy Jones. I know, I know, who knew I was so oppositional at heart?!


Opening it at the store, I was surprised by the formatting of the book. It looked almost like a screenplay, and my interest was finally piqued. Skimming the Author's Note, I realized that the book consisted of a series of transcripts documenting interviews with fictional band members that were "an attempt to piece together a clear portrait of how the renowned 1970s rock band Daisy Jones & The Six rose to fame - as well as what led to their abrupt and infamous split...". I was hooked.


And now here I am, no more than 24 hours later, writing this review, waiting impatiently for the Amazon series to be released, and in the meantime, itching to start my next TJR.


But before I get sucked into the next, let's explore some of the things that made this book unique. For one, the format did not disappoint - as the author states, "...sometimes accounts of the same event differ. The truth often lies, unclaimed, in the middle." There was no omniscient narrator here. And no stereotypically unreliable ones, either. At least, not any more unreliable than you or me. Instead, there were characters telling their own versions of a story to the best of their ability - subject to their own lenses and biases.


As with life, some characters were no longer around to tell their side of the story. Others weren't interested in reliving it. And the ones who were most likely saw it through rose-tinted glasses. Many characters only knew pieces of the story, but the author compiled all these perspectives to provide readers with the facts and encourage them to form their own opinions. To read between the lines and find their own version of the truth.


And then there is the story itself. It broke my heart, inspired me, and restored my faith in humanity. I thought I knew where the book was going, and was pleasantly surprised to find that I was nowhere close.


Finally, I was impressed by TJR's commitment. She has created not just a series of books, but a world where her stories overlap and intersect with each other unexpectedly. For Daisy Jones, she even wrote an entire album of music (consisting of ten songs) which is referenced throughout the novel and helps tell a story that words alone cannot. I, for one, cannot wait to see these songs brought to life in the television series. With any luck, I will soon have a third comparison to A Star is Born - how much I love the music.


So get to reading! If you agree with my review, feel free to pass along some recommendations in the comments. And if you don't, change my mind! As this book reminds us, each of us has our own perspective and it is only by talking that we get closer to the truth.

Comments


Blog.png

hi, thanks for stopping by!

My name is Stephanie Maeve, and I am a literary blogger and aspiring freelance copywriter. Get to know more about me and my journey by clicking on the below link.

let the posts
come to you

thanks for submitting!

  • Stephanie Maeve
  • Add a heading
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page