top of page

a book a week in 2022

It's hotter than anything here in Sweden (climate change, anyone?) and as I lay in front of the fan in a futile attempt to cool off, I find myself staring at the rainbow bookshelf opposite my bed. And I think of how I surpassed (what I thought was) an ambitious reading goal for the year not even halfway into it. My original goal was 20 books. As of July 31st, I have read 32. Now, my goal sits at a lofty 52 - a book a week.

It's not that I don't have a life. I do. It's that I find reading to be one of the best ways to spend a lazy Sunday. And once I open a book, I can't close it until it's done. Unless it's Anna Karenina (a true challenge would be to finish that one book by the end of 2022). Or Den lilla bokhandeln i hamnen, which I probably would have finished in one sitting had it not been in Swedish. But as I continue to work towards my goal, I want to make sure I remember these books not just as numbers, but by the way they made me feel.


So without further ado, I now present a summary of the books I've read during 2022. The books that, for better or worse, pushed me to upend my stable career in finance and pursue the path of most resistance - that of a yet to be defined struggling artist. A writer, an editor, or a mix of both. Time will tell, but life's too short not to find out.


  1. The Mountains Sing: A beautiful way to start the new year. I received this book as a gift from my mom over Christmas, and read it during our 24+ hour drive to and from Lake Tahoe. I love a book that teaches me something, and in this one, I learned about Vietnam in the 20th century through the eyes of multiple Vietnamese generations. I felt the pain of a mother's unconditional love for her children. And against the backdrop of the Pacific and Vietnam wars, I was reminded of how biased and Eurocentric formal education in the Western hemisphere can be. And that to never stop learning, never stop reading.

  2. The Paris Library: Another Christmas present from my mom, and another absolute joy to read. This time, a World War II epic about the power of books. Need I say more?

  3. This Tender Land: I was drawn to this book because of comparisons to both Where the Crawdads Sing and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. The descriptions of Depression-era Midwest are unparalleled, and the story both heartbreaking and inspiring. And in the same way Mark Twain tackled the issue of slavery in his novels, William Kent Kreuger took on another stain on American history - the government's treatment of Native Americans.

  4. Harry Potter och den flammande bägaren: The Swedish translation of a British classic - Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. No lengthy summary required here - this was a re-read of a familiar book in order to improve my Swedish. If I were feeling generous, I could probably count this as three books - since I read the English and Swedish versions side-by-side and listened to excerpts from the audiobook after each chapter. But alas - turns out I'm stingy!

  5. The Maid: A classic whodunnit with a twist - a neurodivergent protagonist.

  6. Körkortsboken: Semi-facetious, but I'm counting it! This was my 250-page Swedish driving manual that I had to memorize in order to pass the dreaded written exam - which I did, the first time, with flying colors! Don't mind me - I'll just be over here in the corner, patting myself on the back.

  7. With Our Blessing: Another murder mystery, this time dealing with the notorious Magdalene Laundries of 1970s Ireland. A startling look at the inherent contradictions of religion, and a page-turner to boot.

  8. Luckiest Girl Alive: TRIGGER WARNING!! I won't say much more as my reviews are spoiler-free, but I had very conflicting feelings about this one. For me, it hit a little too close to home for comfort.

  9. 100 Days of Sunlight: Exactly what I needed after going to some dark places in #8. A heartwarming tale about getting back up when life knocks you down, and finding light in the most unexpected of places.

  10. The Nightingale: Another beautiful WWII novel - I was a couple years behind on this one, but better late than never! A harrowing look at the Nazi occupation of Paris, which too closely mirrored the Russian invasion of Kyiv that I was reading on the news at the same time. Yet another example of that classic quote - that those who don't remember the past are condemned to repeat it.

  11. Invandrarna: The lättläst (easy read) version of a Swedish classic - second in a series by Vilhelm Moberg. I had already read the English translation of the first book, The Emigrants, when this was assigned as homework in Swedish class. After finishing the novel, we watched the 2021 remake of Utvandrarna, which covered all four books in the series. As documented in my book report afterward, the similarities between Moberg's story and that of my own family's immigration were striking. A fictional novel, but based on the real experiences of Swedish emigrants at the turn of the century.

  12. The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post: Another piece of historical fiction documenting the life of an American heiress who helped redefine what it meant to be a woman in the early 20th century.

  13. The Girl Behind the Wall: I was motivated to read this book after spending a weekend in Berlin. Seeing remnants of the wall and reading stories of the atrocities that took place behind it was one thing, but I wanted to feel what it was like to live in a city where walls sprouted up, overnight, around me, separating me from people and places I had known all my life. I grew up taking freedom for granted, not knowing the ravages of war and oppression. This book took me back to 1961 Berlin to give me a glimpse into what life was like during both.

  14. Apples Never Fall: Similar to Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers, this is another Liane Moriarty mystery that will be adapted to the big screen. As always, I had to read the book before watching the series - and it didn't disappoint!

  15. A Flicker in the Dark: A dark murder mystery that kept me guessing until the eleventh hour, and then had me kicking myself for not seeing what seemed so obvious in hindsight.

  16. One Night on the Island: I was initially intrigued by the concept - a journalist who goes to an Irish island in order to marry herself. But from there, it turned into the typical hate-to-love romance - enjoyable, but not memorable.

  17. Happy People are Annoying: On a beautiful spring day, I found myself wanting to read but also take advantage of the weather and scenery by hiking the Gothenburg archipelago. So I compromised with an audiobook. I'm not typically an audiobook person - I find one person voicing multiple characters to be irritating at best - with the notable exception of autobiographies. So I checked the recent releases, and one title in particular stuck out - Josh Peck's Happy People are Annoying. It was nostalgic, and dealt with some surprisingly difficult issues like body dysmorphia and addiction. And at a time when I too was contemplating a career change, it was interesting to hear about his journey from child actor to youtuber to author.

  18. And the Band Played On: Politics, People, and the AIDS Epidemic: My sister's favorite book - a self-proclaimed 'textbook' - took me awhile to get through. But it was worth the effort. A thoroughly researched account of the AIDS epidemic that I read during the height of the Covid pandemic starred some of the same key players. Enlightening and devastating, it opened my eyes to the key social and political factors that played a role in exacerbating what was already a deadly disease.

  19. Book Lovers: And so begins a series of contemporary romance novels - skip ahead to #23 if they aren't your cup of tea. The first, Book Lovers, is your typical Emily Henry novel - sweet, funny, and yes, predictable. Guaranteed to pick you up when you're feeling down.

  20. Again, Rachel: In true Marian Keyes fashion, this book is utterly hilarious. As the protagonist, Rachel, would say - "he laughed, she laughed, they probably laughed next door...[My cat, Louise] was doubtless in convulsions downstairs in the kitchen." But between the laughs, it also dove into some dark subjects like loss and addiction, some of which mirrored the author's own life experiences.

  21. Reminders of Him: Devastating but heartwarming, it will break you into a million pieces and then put you right back together again.

  22. One Italian Summer: My least favorite of the four, its primary redeeming quality was that it finally got me off my summer romance kick and onto more intellectual books. And so, with that, onto the next.

  23. Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania: This book was recommended to me by my dad years ago. At the time, I had just finished several other Eric Larsson books - dense and well-researched, but not always the easiest reads. Since I usually need to balance heavy books with light ones (Exhibit A - this year's list), I put it on the shelf to come back to another time . That time finally arrived on my trip to Ireland over midsummer. At that point, I was more than saturated with light, fluffy reads, and had been revisiting the Lusitania's story while in Cobh and the Old Head of Kinsale. And so I finally read the book that told the incredible true story of the sinking that put America on the road to war. It switches between the perspectives of the Lusitania, the U-boat that sunk it, and the Allied codebreakers, providing remarkable insight into who knew what when, and ultimately, why.

  24. The Opposite of Butterfly Hunting: The Tragedy and The Glory of Growing Up: I picked up this book on my way back to Sweden from the shockingly sparse collection at the Cork airport. It is the memoir of an Irish child actor, Evanna Lynch, who rose to fame through her portrayal of Luna Lovegood in the Harry Potter movies. Younger than me, I naively questioned what memories she could possibly have worth sharing. But oh, what memories they were. She shared her struggles with mental health, including eating disorders and suicidal ideation, which hospitalized her three times prior to landing her breakout role at age 13. It was honest and relatable, and surprisingly well-written, and had me thinking about it long after I finished reading. She specifically called out her own sensitivity and excess of emotions, and how she needed a creative outlet in which to express them. And that was final nail in the coffin of my hitherto career in finance.

  25. A Three Dog Problem: I'm more than a little embarrassed to have this on the list, but here we are. A murder has occurred at Buckingham Palace and the one and only Queen Elizabeth II is on the case. Once you get over the premise, however, it's quirky and fun, and filled with some lesser known facts about the Royal family - like how in addition to corgis, the Queen has dorgis, the result of interbreeding between her own dogs and her sister Margaret's dachshund.

  26. The Murders at Fleat House: This novel, released posthumously by Lucinda Riley, is the author's only foray into crime. I had previously fallen in love with Riley's Seven Sisters series, and this book, while undeniably different, carried her signature appeal. I even enjoyed it despite the fact that the main character had given up her career in the police force to pursue a new path as an artist, before seeing reason and staying the course. Sigh, you can't win 'em all.

  27. The Man Who Died Twice: The second in The Thursday Murder Club series about a handful of crime-solving octogenarians. Funny, witty, and charming - and in my opinion, even better than the first!

  28. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings: The first of seven (!!) autobiographical novels by Maya Angelou, I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings chronicles her life between ages 3 and 16. In just thirteen short years, it felt like she had lived just as many lives and experienced more than most of us have in a lifetime. I can only imagine what the next six have in store.

  29. The Paris Apartment: A classic locked-room mystery with a twist that you won't see coming (or, at least, I didn't). Some loose ends left untied, but overall, an improvement from the last Lucy Foley book I read - The Guest List.

  30. Americanah: The Swedish lättläst version of a novel written about a Nigerian immigrant in America. While I will refrain from commenting on the style of this translated and abridged version, I appreciate the fact that the protagonist finds success as an immigrant blogger.

  31. Daisy Jones & The Six: As you will see in my full review, I started this book reluctantly and with low expectations. But I was blown away by the uniqueness of the format and the story itself.

  32. Every Summer After: I must admit that I absolutely adored this debut novel by Carley Fortune - a contemporary romance that combines a coming-of-age story with more adult themes. Next time I'm in an anxiety spiral, remind me to pull this off the shelf and immerse myself in the world of Sam and Percy.

  33. One True Loves: A Pearl Harbor-esque romance about a woman who, believing her husband had passed, moves on with another, only to find out that she was wrong. This book was hit and miss for me - two love stories in one short book seemed rushed, and neither was given the time needed for the reader to become invested. That said, there were moments of genius sprinkled throughout the author's exploration of grief, time, and the complexities of relationships.

  34. Cloud Cuckoo Land: Five stories. Three timelines. One ancient text tying them all together. From the author who brought us All the Light We Cannot See comes a historical, contemporary, and dystopian novel which takes on complex topics such as climate change, domestic terrorism, and the dark side of technology. It was beautifully descriptive, but with enough cliffhangers to keep me turning page after page. However, the ending seemed abrupt and left me with more questions than answers. Though maybe that was the point...

  35. Family of Liars: I read the sequel to this book, We Were Liars, when it was first published eight years ago. While I don't remember much about the writing style of the author, I vividly remember the twist that turned the book on it's head. Apparently, the book gained popularity again via BookTok, and the author has taken advantage of the renewed hype to write a prequel. If you're a fan of supernatural elements, purple prose, cheesy dialogue, and the plight of the poor little rich girl, then this book is for you. Unfortunately, I'm not.

  36. Yearbook: Seth Rogen's personality shines through in this autobiography detailing his formative years as a Canadian Jew and how they served as inspiration for his future career as a screenwriter. While I can't claim to have much in common with the young Rogen, I still found it hilarious and was fascinated to see how the movies I grew up with were shaped by his own real-life experiences. It also contains some unbelievable (or in some cases, very believable) stories documenting his interactions with Hollywood Royalty including George Lucas, Nicolas Cage, Kanye West, and Tom Cruise.

  37. Wrong Place Wrong Time: A Reese's Book Club pick that I Could. Not. Put. Down. The premise is outlandish and requires the reader to suspend disbelief, but it's worth it for the twists and turns and the trip down memory lane. We travel back twenty years with the protagonist, experiencing a life lived forwards and then in reverse. What would you do differently if you had the chance?

  38. Emma: Written in 1815, Jane Austen's classic novel can be tricky to read, but it is worth it for the picture she paints of the idyllic British countryside that has been adapted for the big screen countless times. I was lucky enough to follow this book up with a visit to Jane Austen's homes in both Chawton and Winchester, where I was able to see the inspiration behind her novels first-hand. I look forward to reading (and critically analyzing) another one of her novels, Northanger Abbey, in my Romantic Literature class this fall.

  39. Holding: I was surprised to learn that Graham Norton has added fiction author to his resume with this debut novel released in 2016. As a recent Irish transplant myself, I could clearly see how Norton's Irish upbringing influenced both the setting and characters in this piece of crime fiction.

  40. Verity: Unpopular opinion warning - especially considering that Colleen Hoover fans (self-proclaimed "CoHorts") are some of the most diehard I've seen. Despite not having the same unwavering devotion as many of her fans, I decided to read this book after hearing that it was quite a departure from the rest (not to mention garnering a 4.42 rating on GoodReads, which I am now attributing to her loyal fanbase rather than the book itself). As a whole, I was not overly impressed by this novel - I found the story predictable, disturbing, and riddled with plot holes. But on the bright side, it was a quick and easy read!

  41. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall: My first Brontë ("Bell") novel but definitely not my last - I am so glad that my Victorian Literature class had this on the syllabus! One of the early feminist novels from the realist movement, it portrays the life of a woman before, during, and after she gets her so-called 'fairy tale ending'. As a benefit to studying this novel in school, I was able to get additional insight into the period as well hear from Anne's critics, both current and contemporary (the harshest of which included her sister, Charlotte, who led the charge in getting this book banned).

  42. The Last Party: This was a recommendation from a self-proclaimed crime fiction junkie that unfortunately did not live up to her glowing endorsement. Set in the scenic Tal-y-llyn lake between Wales and England, this novel was a fun, if forgettable, whodunnit. Highlights include a cross-border investigation and an interesting peek into the Welsh-English dynamic. If you're looking for a quick read that will pass an afternoon, look no further than The Last Party!

  43. Robinson Crusoe: Credited with being the first novel in English, the original Survivor story is not without its faults. However, I found it interesting to learn about the 18th Century England through the microcosm created by Crusoe on his island - complete with colonialism, the monarchy, and religion.

  44. Asking for It: Wow. What a powerful and absolutely heart wrenching story. Louise O'Neill's brutally honest (and understandably cynical) take on rape culture and consent will stay with me for years to come. In her novel, O'Neill addresses the complexity of such situations in which no one is perfect and where 'villains' can be victims too. It is terrifyingly realistic, and in some ways, reminded me of Chanel Miller's autobiography, Say My Name (which I could not recommend enough!). Please read this book and help raise understanding and awareness for the unbelievable guilt, stress, and blame that most people face when telling stories that not everyone wants to hear.

  45. The Silent Patient: Another whodunnit to break up the heavier reads required for my degree, with possibly the best twist I've read this year!!

  46. Gulliver's Travels: This book was published less than a decade after Robinson Crusoe yet I found it to be much more readable and fun. Consisting of four parts, which span the familiar island of Lilliput to the less famous Land of the Houyhnhnms, it satirizes many aspects of contemporary British culture, 'traveler's tales' such as Robinson Crusoe, and humankind in general. While Swift often wrote with specific targets in mind, many of the underlying issues that he raised almost three centuries ago are still applicable today.

  47. Northanger Abbey: This Jane Austen novel is a parody of the Gothic literature that dominated the 1790s literary landscape. It is the hilarious tale of Gothic novel 'fangirl' Catherine Morland and her melodramatic expectations of the mundane world in which she lives. But there are other more meaningful layers to the story as well, which reflect on the debased status of the novel as well as provide encouragement for young women to learn from experience instead of via the conduct literature widely available at that time.

  48. Normal People: I originally read this book the day after I binged the series in 2020 and was underwhelmed (or maybe overexposed). However, now re-reading (and re-watching - I'll never learn!) for school, I absolutely fell in love with the book. I find both main characters to be utterly relatable and the social commentary to be on point. But as much as I adore the book - I think this is one of the few cases where the TV adaptation is better.

  49. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking: In the midst of obtaining an English degree, it is hard to find the time or motivation to read for fun. However, I soon discovered that I had the time to listen to an audiobook on my commute to and from class. This book had been on my radar for awhile, and as a nonfiction book, I thought it would be a good candidate for a listen as opposed to a read. And as a highly sensitive "pseudo-extrovert", Susan Cain's novel about the power of introverts really resonated with me. In the retelling of a case study, Cain relates how for some introverts, "[t]he route to success is to be the sort of person [they are] not." This was definitely the case for me when I initially chose my career in finance, and reading this text helped reaffirm that I had made the right decision in my recent career change. Instead of partaking in back-to-back and often combative meetings in an open-plan workplace which sapped my energy, I have now found a job that can be performed in the comfort of my own home, with minimal meetings, and which allows me to spend time on in-character activities like reading and writing. Now that I have created a 'restorative niche' during my workday, I find that I have more energy in my free time to hang out with others and spend time on the things I enjoy most.

  50. Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling: An absolutely hilarious parody of Irish culture, this read was particularly timely given my recent move. While some jokes undoubtedly went over my head, I found myself frequently laughing out loud at the surprising number of recognizable and exaggerated stereotypes. Not to mention that I picked up some Irish slang as well - hames, notion, craythur, and shumper, to name a few!

  51. Middlemarch: Poor Dorothea! Poor Lydgate! Poor Casaubon! And most of all, Poor Stephanie! By this, I am only half joking. This novel clearly deserves the praise it gets, and I appreciate it in hindsight, but my god was it a grind to get through, especially on a time crunch. However, I suspect the longer I reflect upon it, the more fondness I will have for the novel, which turns the spotlight on those "who lived faithfully a hidden life, and rest in unvisited tombs."

  52. The Break: This Marian Keyes novel is another re-read for me, but this time analyzed with a new perspective and a critical lens. On paper, this novel tells the story of a woman whose husband of seventeen years leaves for a six-month 'break' to find himself after struggling with a parent's death. On a deeper level, however, this novel subtly (and sometimes not-so-subtly) champions the pro-choice movement gaining traction in Ireland at the time of publication in 2017. While you won't find any allusions to abortion in the title or summary blurb, this underlying theme successfully infiltrates every single plotline of the book without being explicitly didactic.

And with that, ladies and gentlemen, I have completed my goal of reading a book a week in 2022! While I won't extend my goal further, I will continue to read through the end of the year, both for school and fun (time-permitting), and will keep you posted as I do. Thank you for joining me on my reading journey - I wish you the best of luck on yours!!


Now, please excuse me, as I'm off to read #53. Stay tuned as page will be updated continuously, and keep recommendations coming in the comments!



Comentários


Blog.png

hi, thanks for stopping by!

My name is Stephanie Maeve, and I am a literary blogger and aspiring freelance copywriter. Get to know more about me and my journey by clicking on the below link.

let the posts
come to you

thanks for submitting!

  • Stephanie Maeve
  • Add a heading
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page